top of page

Zucchini- Chickpea Purée

Like peanut butter and jelly, some things are just better together. For me, zucchini and chickpeas have always been one of those things. Growing up, my mom always stuck the two in a pot together and cooked it until the zucchini was mushy and yum. I’m never one to mess with perfection so I too now throw zucchinis and chickpeas in a pot with water and call it dinner! Occasionally I’ll even be fancy and take out the immersion blender like I did here!

Also, since I’ve eaten this so much as a kid, I know/ hope I can get my baby into it one day as well! For babies, simply feel free to omit the onions and any seasoning. Also, depending on the age you may want to add more or less water for a thinner or thicker consistency.

Zucchini Chickpea Puree

1 red onion

5-6 green zucchinis or a mix of green and yellow l, sliced into rounds

1 can of Chickpeas, drained and rinsed or 2 cups cooked Chickpeas

2 cups Water

Oil to sautée

Chop onions fine and sauté on medium heat until translucent. Add a pinch of salt to ensure they don’t brown. Add onions to a stockpot with 2 cups water (you can eyeball it. Water doesn’t have to cover the zucchini). Add chickpeas and bring soup up to a boil. Reduce to simmer. Cover and cook until zucchini is soft about 20-30 minutes. Blend using an immersion blender (or regular one). To season, add salt, pepper and garlic powder.


Related Posts

See All
Check Out These Related Posts: 
bottom of page